Ministry Leadership Formation Advisory Committee

The Ministry Leadership Formation Advisory Committee is an administrative standing committee of the Catholic Health Association The committee is constituted to perform certain ongoing advisory functions related to ministry formation in the Catholic health ministry. The committee is comprised of ten to twelve people involved in formation at various levels of Catholic health care. Ideally, the committee includes leaders from mission, organizational development and higher education. The committee meets several times a year either in-person or by teleconference.

In 2011, the Ministry Leadership Formation Advisory Committee developed the document Framework for Senior Leadership Formation. This document was in response to The Catholic Health Ministry's Vision 2020 Statement which named ministry-wide formation as one of the prominent actions for the preferred future. Currently, this committee is organized into three subcommittees: Formator Competency Subcommittee, tasked to determine the core competencies necessary to lead formation; Forming the Formator Subcommittee, which is exploring a process for developing and certifying future formation leaders; and the Metrics Subcommittee, whose charter is to determine objective metrics for evaluating the effectiveness of ministry formation programs.


Patrick Gaughan, MBA, MHA 
Vice President, The Center for Ministry Formation
Catholic Health Initiatives


Rachelle Barina, Ph.D.
Senior System Director - Mission, Ethics & Formation
SSM Health
Gerard F. Heeley, S.T.D
Senior Vice President/Chief Mission Integration and Leadership Formation Officer
Kyle Klosterman, MAPS 
Director, Mission and Formation
Celeste D. Mueller, D.Min. 
Vice President, Spiritual & Theological Formation
Ascension Healthcare
Rev. Michael Rozier, SJ, MPH
Assistant Professor Health Management & Policy
St. Louis University College for Public Health & Social Justice
Mary Anne Sladich-Lantz
Vice President, Ministry Leadership Formation
Providence Health & Services
Stephen T. Surprenant
Vice President, Ministry Formation & Incorporation
Trinity Health
Jaideep S. Taluja
Director of Ministry Formation
Bon Secours Health System, Inc.
Victor M. Valenzuela
Vice President of Ministry Formation
Dignity Health

Staff Coordinator

Diarmuid Rooney, M.S.Psych., M.T.S., D.Soc.Admin. 
Senior Director, Ministry Formation
Catholic Health Association

CHA Staff

Carrie Meyer McGrath, M.Div., MAS
Director, Mission Services
Catholic Health Association